version française

inVibe

Inference in Visual Behaviours

Movements of our eyes as well as our perception are primarily based on the ability of the visual system to estimate accurately the location and movement of objects in a cluttered environment. The INVIBE team aims at better understanding how such information is extracted (visual motion processing), how they are filtered depending upon the behavioral constraints (attention, decision-making) and how they are transformed into motor commands controlling saccades and pursuit and coordinating them (oculomotor control). The team combines behavioral (psychophysics, eye movement behaviors) and physiological (single & multiple units recordings electrophysiology, pharmacological perturbations, MRI/TMS) approaches in both humans and monkeys. Neuronal and behavioral data are also simulated using mathematical models based on Bayesian inference theory and implemented in artificial neural networks.

More specifically, the main research topics in the team are:

  • Visual motion processing for perception and action: We investigate how the visual motion system extracts and selectively integrates local information about object motion about how these representations are used to control reflexive or voluntary eye movements (pursuit) and perception. We combine psychophysical and behavioral methods targeting low-level visual motion processing (local speed and direction processing) and integration/segmentation mechanisms to optimally reconstruct the velocity of, and only of, the target of interest. Comparing perceptual and motor performances allow us to have access to different, context-dependent computational rules and different time scales (e.g. fast detection/discrimination, slow multi-stability). These rules are simulated using dynamical models (Bayesian models, dynamical ring attractor networks). One original approach is to use naturalistic stimuli mimicking the statistical properties of natural images while being still fully parametrically-controlled.

Principal investigators: Guillaume Masson, Anna Montagnini, Laurent Perrinet

JPEG - 66.8 kb

Figure: Main cortical processing steps involved in extracting, integrating and segmenting local information about an object moving in a cluttered environment. These computational steps are dynamical since they are embedded in recurrent networks implementing context dependent, adaptive rules based on the statistical properties of the images (from Medathati et al., International Journal of Computer Vision 2016)

  • Neural bases of oculomotor control: How the brain controls movements of our eyes directed towards a moving goal ? We study on both human and monkeys the nature of visual signals about target location/motion are transformed into motor signals used to coordinate pursuit and saccadic eye movements when tracking simple, continues target motion trajectories as well as complex trajectories with occluded portions or change in direction, speed… In monkeys, we investigate the respective roles of the multiple neural signals flowing between ponto-cerebellar, cerebello-reticular pathways as well as cortical and cerebellar inputs to the superior colliculus in the control of orienting gaze. To do so, we use causal approaches based on local, reversible perturbations (local drug injections, micro-stimulation) applied to different nodes (superior colliculus, brainsteam nuclei) of the complex but versatile oculomotor system.

Principal investigators: Laurent Goffart, Anna Montagnini, Guillaume Masson

  • Acting and perceiving also use prediction: Eye movements, as well as perception, are not only based on current information. Our brain has a striking ability to estimate statistical regularities from target motion trajectories and to use these to optimize motor control by reducing processing delays or by anticipating target motion onset and velocity. We study how probabilistic neural representations of target motions are learned, on which time scales and with which context dependent computational rules. At theoretical level, such probabilities learning is modeled as a Bayesian network where the decision is continuously updated by integrating both new sensory information and accumulated history forming a dynamical Prior distribution. We investigate how the dynamics of these optimal probabilistic representations shape eye movements and perception. We start also investigating their neural basis in humans using fMRI and trans-cranial magnetic stimulation (TMS).

Principal investigators: Anna Montagnini, Laurent Perrinet, Laurent Goffart, Guillaume Masson

  • Decision-making and attention:  Sensory systems receive a continuous flows of dense and complex information from the peripheral sensors. To optimally adapt our behaviors to the environment and the behavioral contexts ones need to process and represent only relevant features (a friend in a crowd, a predator hidden in an high grass field), such information must be compared to internal representations of what ones are looking for. Attention filters information in an adaptive way, taking into account the behavioral and environmental context. Therefore, attention eases perception of expected features, shaping decision-making mechanisms based on the features. We study how prefrontal (PFC/FEF) and posterior parietal (PPC/LIP) cortex interact with extra-striate visual areas (V4, MT) in order to control and orient visual attention, to integrate and bind relevant visual information (spatial and feature information) and take perceptual decisions. We combine psychophysical methods in humans and monkeys with multiple- and single-unit recordings in macaque PFC/PPC and V4/MT areas. To demonstrate their causal role we selectively perturb these neuronal populations using electrical micro-stimulation or pharmacological inactivation.

Principal investigators : Guilhem Ibos, Anna Montagnini

  • Dynamics of inference: computational neurosciences and artificial intelligence. Investigating sensory processing mechanisms allows to define computational rules that can then be implemented in artificial models. More specifically, we investigate how the brain builds a probabilistic estimate of specific target motion properties (e.g. its trajectory) from uncertain and ambiguous local motion information. Such integration takes advantage of a priori knowledge about the statistical properties of our visual world and the displacement of its objects. The probabilistic formalism used in our studies allow to elucidate the relationship between the dynamics of neural computation and the precision of both the sensory measurements and the Prior distributions. These probabilistic models can then be implemented in artificial neural networks and therefore be used when building the next generation of artificial systems as for instance embarked sensory or cognitive systems (robots, autonomous vehicles).

Principal investigators : Laurent Perrinet, Anna Montagnini

JPEG - 82.8 kb

Figure : A dynamical estimate of the trajectory (i.e. its position and velocity) of a moving target (in red). Such estimate is plotted as a function of time (from left to right) and is based upon a diffusion mechanism of measurements precision. Such diffusion allows cancelling processing delays and therefore to represent the target position in real time. By comparison, a second, flashed target (green) will not lead to diffusion mechanism, and therefore no prediction mechanism such that its perceived location will be delayed. Despite the fact that red and green targets are located at the same position at the time of the flash, the moving targe twill be perceived as being ahead of the static, flashed green target, corresponding to the flash-lag effect. From Khoei et al. PLOS Computational Biology (2016)

Linking visual sciences and Arts

For the last 5 years, Laurent Perrinet as developed a collaboration with Etienne Rey, a plastic artiste living in Marseille. His work reflects upon how light is diffracted and disassembled by materials and its impact on our percepts. See http://ondesparalleles.org/. This collaboration has led to several masterpieces, one of them being permanently exposed at the Institut de Neurosciences de la Timone. For more information, see http://invibe.net/LaurentPerrinet/EtienneRey

JPEG - 177.6 kb

Elasticité dynamique is a masterpiece made of 3 elements : Expansion, Trame et Lignes sonores. (© Etienne Rey, Adagp Paris 2015). See https://vimeo.com/150654250

The INVIBE team is composed of 4 permanent CNRS researchers

  • Guillaume Masson (DR1 CNRS) has studied for 20 years the mechanisms of visual motion processing for both perception and eye movement control. He has published more than 70 research articles, including 8 in top-ranking journals such as Nature, Nature Neuroscience, PNAS et Current Biology and several review articles on biological and artificial vision. He is the founder of the Institut de Neurosciences de la Timone (2012) and its current Director.
  • Anna Montagnini (CRCN, CNRS) is interested in human visual and oculomotor systems as models of how human being makes decision and how such decision-making mechanisms are strongly influenced by the uncertainty of visual and non-visual information. Her work uses both empirical studies in human participants and modeling behavioral performances. She has published more that 20 articles in international journals (J Vision, Nature Neurosci...).
  • Laurent Goffart (CRCN, CNRS) has studied for 20 years the neural mechanisms underlying gaze orientation in non-human primates.. In particular, he is interested in the role of brainstem nuclei and the cerebellum. He dissects their role using reversible inactivation and microstimulation in behaving monkeys. He has published more than 30 articles in high-standard journals (Science, J Neurosci..)
  • Laurent Perrinet (CRCN, CNRS) is a computational neuroscientist. He builds models of visual processing that are then compared to empirical data from biological systems. His work helps building better artificial intelligence systems, in particular for sensory processing. See http://invibe.net/LaurentPerrinet.
  • Guilhem Ibos (Marie Curie Fellows, CNRS) has been working since 10 years on cortical mechanisms of attention and decision-making. He records neuronal activities simultaneously in 3 cortical areas, while the monkeys perform complex tasks. He has published more than 10 papers, in particular in Neuron and ELife.

Research training:

InViBe hosts Master and PhD students, as well as post-doctoral fellows. PhD students are enrolled in the Integrative and Clinical Neurosciences PhD Program (Aix-Marseille Université, http://neuro-marseille.org/en/phd-program-en/news/ ). PhD students and post-docs are funded by Higher Education and Research fellowships and national and international grants. InVIBE coordinates the PACA Marie-Curie ITN network. The team welcomes foreign students (Master/Erasmus, PhD, post-doc) and currently 2/3 of INVIBE fellows are foreigners. We recruit students with a background in neurosciences, experimental psychology, computer sciences or applied mathematics.

A list of proposed training projects are listed here. Students are encouraged to seek information about open job positions as well as training opportunities : training.

Team manager

MASSON Guillaume

Chef d'équipe-Team leader

Team member

Selected publications



  • Taouali W., Benvenuti G., Wallisch P., Chavane F., and Perrinet L.U. (2016). Testing the odds of inherent vs. observed overdispersion in neural spike counts. Journal of Neurophysiology, 115: 434-444.


  • Matonti F., Roux S., Denis D., Picaud S., and Chavane F. (2015). Cécité et réhabilitation visuelle. Journal Français d'Ophtalmologie, 38: 93-102.


  • Quinet J. and Goffart L. (2015). Does the Brain Extrapolate the Position of a Transient Moving Target? Journal of Neuroscience, 35: 11780-11790.


  • Quinet J. and Goffart L. (2015). Cerebellar control of saccade dynamics: contribution of the fastigial oculomotor region. Journal of Neurophysiology, 113: 3323-3336.

  • Meso A.I. and Masson G.S. (2014). Dynamic resolution of ambiguity during tri-stable motion perception. Vision Research, 107C: 113-123.

  • Muller L., Reynaud A., Chavane F., and Destexhe A. (2014). The stimulus-evoked population response in visual cortex of awake monkey is a propagating wave. Nature Communications, 5.


  • Vidal M. and Barrès V. (2014). Hearing (rivaling) lips and seeing voices: how audiovisual interactions modulate perceptual stabilization in binocular rivalry. Frontiers in Human Neuroscience, 8.

  • Da Silva A., Deumié C., and Vanzetta I. (2012). Elliptically polarized light for depth resolved optical imaging. Biomedical optics express, 3: 2907-2915.

  • Leon P.S., Vanzetta I., Masson G.S., and Perrinet L.U. (2012). Motion clouds: model-based stimulus synthesis of natural-like random textures for the study of motion perception. Journal of Neurophysiology, 107: 3217-3226.


  • Simoncini C., Perrinet L.U., Montagnini A., Mamassian P., and Masson G.S. (2012). More is not always better: adaptive gain control explains dissociation between perception and action. Nature Neuroscience, 15: 1596-1603.
  • Publications

    CNRS logo université Aix Marseille logo | Sitemap | Terms & Conditions | contact | admin | intranet | intcloud |

inVibe

Inférence et Comportements Visuels

Les mouvements de nos yeux comme notre perception de l’environnement sont principalement dépendant de la capacité du système visuel à extraire des informations sur la position et le mouvement des objets dans l’environnement. L’équipe INVIBE cherche à comprendre comment ces informations visuelles sont extraites, comment elles sont filtrées en fonction du contexte et comment elles forment des représentations dynamiques servant à la programmation et au contrôle des mouvements oculaires saccadiques et de poursuite. L‘équipe combine des approches comportementales (psychophysique, oculomotricité) et physiologiques (électrophysiologie/perturbations pharmacologiques locales, IRM/TMS) chez l’homme et chez le singe macaque. Les données neuronales ou comportementales sont confrontées à des modèles mathématiques (inférence probabilistes) et neuromorphiques (réseaux de neurones).

Plus spécifiquement, les grands axes de recherche d’INVIBE sont :

  • La vision du mouvement visuel pour la perception et l’action : nous étudions comment le système visuel extrait et intègre des informations de vitesse et de direction pour reconstruire le mouvement d’un objet dans un environnement complexe et d’utiliser cette représentation pour prendre une décision perceptive (où va le mouvement) ou motrice (le suivre avec les yeux). Pour cela, nous combinons des approches psychophysiques et oculomoteur visant les processus perceptifs de bas-niveau (par exemple la détection et la discrimination d’une vitesse) ou cognitif (les règles de liages) pour identifier les principes computationnels régissant l’intégration ou la segmentation de ces indices locaux afin d’isoler un objet en mouvement de son environnement. La comparaison des performances perceptives et oculomotrices nous permet d’avoir accès à différentes échelles de temps et différents contextes liés à la tâche. Ces principes d’intégration/segmentation sont modélisés par des règles d’interactions dynamiques entre populations de neurones. Notre approche originale repose sur l’utilisation de stimuli complexes mimant les propriétés statistiques des images naturelles.

Chercheurs impliqués : Guillaume Masson, Anna Montagnini, Laurent Perrinet

JPEG - 66.8 ko

Figure : Principales étapes corticales servant à isoler le mouvement d’un objet de son contexte visuel. Les étapes de détection, d’intégration et de segmentation sont prises dans des boucles fortement récurrentes dont on étudie la dynamique au niveau comportemental (tiré de Medathati et al., International Journal of Computer Vision 2016)

  • Les bases neurales du contrôle oculomoteur : comment le cerveau contrôle-t-il les mouvements oculaires vers une cible visuelle en mouvement ? Nous étudions chez l’homme et chez le singe macaque à caractériser la nature des signaux de mouvement qui sont en jeu sont utilisées pour coordonner les composantes saccadiques et lentes dans des situations simples (trajectoires continues) ou complexes (occlusion, changement de direction..). Chez le singe, nous travaillons à identifier la contribution relative des multiples flux d’activité ponto-cérébelleuse, cérébello-réticulaire, cérébello-colliculaire et cortico-colliculaire à la dynamique des mouvements d’orientation du regard. Nous utilisons pour cela des méthodes causales, basées sur des perturbations locales (pharmacologique ou électrique) appliquées aux différents nœuds du réseau visuo-oculomoteur.

Chercheurs impliqués : Laurent Goffart, Anna Montagnini, Guillaume Masson

  • Agir (et percevoir) c’est prédire : Les mouvements oculaires, comme la perception, ne sont pas basés uniquement sur l’information visuelle immédiate. Au contraire, notre cerveau a une surprenante capacité pour estimer les régularités statistiques du mouvement des objets et les utiliser pour optimiser le contrôle moteur en réduisant les délais physiologiques ou encore en anticipant le déplacement d’une cible. Nous étudions comment une représentation probabiliste de ces déplacements est élaborée, sur quelles échelles de temps et sur la base de quelles informations (position, vitesse, timing..) et comment elle intervient dans l’apprentissage de réponses adaptées au contexte. Au niveau théorique, cet apprentissage probabiliste est modélisé comme un système d’inférence Bayesienne où la décision est mise à jour régulièrement sur la base des évidences sensorielles et des informations a priori accumulées. Nous étudions la dynamique et les changements de ces représentations optimales, ainsi que leur expression dans le contrôle sensorimoteur et la perception, au niveau comportemental et neurofonctionnel.

Chercheurs : Anna Montagnini, Laurent Perrinet, Laurent Goffart, Guillaume Masson

  • Décision et attention :  Les systèmes perceptifs sont bombardés d’un flux dense et complexe d’information sensoriels. Afin d’adapter nos comportements de manière optimale et de détecter les objets pertinents (un amis dans une foule, un prédateur caché dans des herbes hautes), ces informations doivent être confrontées à des représentations internes à priori des objets pertinents. Cela implique que l’attention visuelle sélectionne de façon adaptative, c’est à dire prenant en compte le contexte comportemental/environnemental, les informations sensorielles pertinentes. Ainsi, l’attention facilite la perception des objets attendus, influençant ainsi de manière intime les phénomènes de prise de décision. Nous étudions comment les cortex préfrontaux et pariétaux postérieur (PFC/FEF, PPC) interagissent avec les aires sensorielles (V4, MT) dans le but de contrôler et orienter l’attention visuelle, d’intégrer et regrouper les informations sensorielles pertinentes et de prendre des décisions perceptuelles. Nous combinons des approches comportementales chez l’homme et le singe et électrophysiologiques et perturbatrices (enregistrements multi-unitaires multi-aires, microstimulation, inactivations réversibles) chez le singe.

Chercheurs : Guilhem Ibos, Anna Montagnini

  • Inférence dynamique, neurosciences computationnelles et intelligence artificielle. Les mécanismes sensoriels qui sont étudiés dans l’équipe permettent d’extraire des règles computationnelles qui peuvent être exploitées dans des modèles artificiels. En particulier, nous étudions au niveau théorique comment le cerveau estime de façon probabiliste le mouvement d’un objet (comme sa trajectoire) à partir d’informations sensorielles partielles et ambiguës. Cette intégration se base sur l’utilisation de connaissances a priori sur la structure du monde visuel et du mouvement des objets. Notre formalisation probabiliste permet de rendre compte de cette dynamique à partir de la précision de chacune de ces informations. La traduction de ces modèles sous forme de réseaux de neurones permet d’envisager l’utilisation de ces principes computationnels dans de nouvelles générations de systèmes artificiels, par exemple pour des systèmes embarqués (robots, véhicules autonomes).

Chercheurs : Laurent Perrinet, Anna Montagnini

JPEG - 82.8 ko

Figure : Estimation dynamique de la trajectoire d’une cible en mouvement. Cette estimation s’affiche au cours du temps (de gauche à droite) grâce à une diffusion de la précision des mesures. Cette diffusion permet d’annuler les délais de traitement, représentant alors en temps réel la position de la cible dans l’espace. Par contraste, un autre objet flashé à la même position apparaitra en retard. Tire de Khoei et al. PLOS Computational Biology (2016)

Tisser des liens entre Sciences Visuelles et Art.

Depuis plusieurs années, Laurent Perrinet collabore avec Etienne Rey, un plasticien marseillais dont le travail nous interroge sur comment la lumière est diffractée, décomposée par les matériaux et donc sur comment le monde est perçu (http://ondesparalleles.org/). Cette collaboration a conduit à plusieurs installations et Etienne Rey expose l’une de ces œuvres au sein même de l’Institut de Neurosciences de la Timone. http://invibe.net/LaurentPerrinet/EtienneRey

JPEG - 177.6 ko

Elasticité dynamique est composée des pièces Expansion, Trame et Lignes sonores. Volume hexagonal en miroir de 7 mètres de diamètre, Expansion fonctionne comme une chambre d’écho. A l’intérieur de ce volume se situe Trame. Constituée de 25 lames de miroir en rotation, cette pièce réoriente continuellement le regard. Quant à Lignes sonores, elle est formée de quatre monolithes orientés vers Expansion et émet des sons qui se réorientent en fonction du mouvement des lames. (© Etienne Rey, Adagp Paris 2015). Voir également https://vimeo.com/150654250

L’équipe INVIBE est composée de 4 chercheurs CNRS permanents

  • Guillaume Masson (DR1 CNRS) étudie depuis 20 ans les mécanismes de la perception visuelle du mouvement pour la perception et l’action. Il a publié 70 articles dont 8 dans Nature, Nature Neuroscience, PNAS et Current Biology et plusieurs revues de questions sur la vision biologique naturelle et artificielle. Il a fondé et dirige l’Institut de Neurosciences de la Timone.
  • Anna Montagnini (CRCN, CNRS) s’intéresse au système visuel et oculomoteur humain comme modèle idéal de prise de décision, fortement influencé par plusieurs sources d’incertitudes et par l’information extra-sensorielle. Elle intègre l’approche expérimentale chez les participants humains et la modélisation différentielle du comportement ; elle a co-rédigé 22 articles dans des revues internationales.
  • Laurent Goffart (CRCN, CNRS) étudie depuis 20 ans les mécanismes neuronaux sous-tendant le contrôle du regard chez le singe. Il s’intéresse en particulier au rôle des structures du tronc cérébral et du cervelet, montrant leur implication par des expériences d’inactivation réversible et de microstimulation. Il a publié plus de 30 articles sur ces questions, notamment dans Science ou encore J Neurosci.
  • Laurent Perrinet (CRCN, CNRS) crée des modèles de vision qui sont comparés aux systèmes biologiques afin d’améliorer les systèmes d’intelligence artificielle, notamment sensoriels, http://invibe.net/LaurentPerrinet.
  • Guilhem Ibos (Marie Curie Fellows, CNRS) travaille depuis 10 ans sur les mécanismes corticaux de l’attention et de la prise de décision. Il travaille chez le singe macaque en enregistrant l’activité de plusieurs aires corticales simultanément. Il a publié plusieurs articles dans Neuron et ELife.

Formation à la recherche :

InViBe accueille des étudiants en Master, en Doctorat ainsi que des post-doctorants. Les étudiants de thèse sont inscrits au PhD Program Integrative and Clinical Neurosciences d’Aix-Marseille Université. (http://neuro-marseille.org/en/phd-program-en/news/). Les doctorants et post-doctorants sont financés par des Allocations de recherche (AMU) et par des contrats de recherche (ANR, Europe, Fondations..). 2/3 de nos étudiants sont étrangers et nous privilégions un recrutement fortement interdisciplinaire : neurosciences, psychologie, physique, sciences de l’ingénieur, informatique.

Voir nos offres de stages

Responsable de l'équipe

MASSON Guillaume

Chef d'équipe-Team leader

Membres de l'équipe

Selection de publications



  • Taouali W., Benvenuti G., Wallisch P., Chavane F., et Perrinet L.U. (2016). Testing the odds of inherent vs. observed overdispersion in neural spike counts. Journal of Neurophysiology, 115: 434-444.


  • Matonti F., Roux S., Denis D., Picaud S., et Chavane F. (2015). Cécité et réhabilitation visuelle. Journal Français d'Ophtalmologie, 38: 93-102.


  • Quinet J. et Goffart L. (2015). Does the Brain Extrapolate the Position of a Transient Moving Target? Journal of Neuroscience, 35: 11780-11790.


  • Quinet J. et Goffart L. (2015). Cerebellar control of saccade dynamics: contribution of the fastigial oculomotor region. Journal of Neurophysiology, 113: 3323-3336.

  • Meso A.I. et Masson G.S. (2014). Dynamic resolution of ambiguity during tri-stable motion perception. Vision Research, 107C: 113-123.

  • Muller L., Reynaud A., Chavane F., et Destexhe A. (2014). The stimulus-evoked population response in visual cortex of awake monkey is a propagating wave. Nature Communications, 5.


  • Vidal M. et Barrès V. (2014). Hearing (rivaling) lips and seeing voices: how audiovisual interactions modulate perceptual stabilization in binocular rivalry. Frontiers in Human Neuroscience, 8.

  • Da Silva A., Deumié C., et Vanzetta I. (2012). Elliptically polarized light for depth resolved optical imaging. Biomedical optics express, 3: 2907-2915.

  • Leon P.S., Vanzetta I., Masson G.S., et Perrinet L.U. (2012). Motion clouds: model-based stimulus synthesis of natural-like random textures for the study of motion perception. Journal of Neurophysiology, 107: 3217-3226.


  • Simoncini C., Perrinet L.U., Montagnini A., Mamassian P., et Masson G.S. (2012). More is not always better: adaptive gain control explains dissociation between perception and action. Nature Neuroscience, 15: 1596-1603.
  • Toutes les publications

    CNRS logo université Aix Marseille logo | plan du site | mentions légales | contact | admin | intranet | intcloud |